Every state has had marijuana on its mind over the last decade. Each has had to decide whether to maintain its illegality or consider allowance for medical or recreational use. Georgia is one state that is currently in a state of limbo regarding medical marijuana.
Presently, registered patients may have prescription THC up to a certain potency. However, there is no place in Georgia to purchase medical marijuana as its production and sale are still illegal.
Georgia considers medical marijuana production
According to The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission heard comments about dispensary laws. Supporters of the expansion state that dispensaries in Georgia could go on to provide medical marijuana to up to 25,000 patients. Opponents felt that expanded access to medical marijuana may lead to underage misuse.
Georgia’s current marijuana laws
While legislators hear comments from the public and other organizations, it is important to remember that marijuana is still illegal in most aspects in Georgia. Understanding the law now may help people facing these allegations navigate their cases.
Low THC possession for those with valid Low-THC Oil Patient Registry cards is legal. Apart from that, possession of less than an ounce is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and $1,000 in fines.
Possession of more than one ounce is a felony with mandatory minimum sentences and fines up to $5,000. Intent to distribute faces even more consequences.
Drug convictions leave permanent impacts on a person’s life and understanding the options for a defense case may help curb or lessen those impacts.